Arabian Nights

Nicola Luisotti - Conductor

Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg - Violin


Bach/arr. Stokowski - Chaconne, from Partita No. 2 for solo violin

Shostakovich - Violin Concerto No. 1


Rimsky-Korsakov - Sheherazade

Friday, February 3, 2012

2:00 pm Verizon Hall

The luminous orchestration of Sheherazade spins an ages-old Arabian tale. And an audience favorite since her Philadelphia Orchestra debut at age 10, Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg performs the daring Shostakovich Violin Concerto No. 1, in Luisotti's Philadelphia Orchestra debut.

program notes

Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg, Violinist

Pre-Concert Conversations