Beethoven's Fifth

David Zinman - Conductor

Choong-Jin Chang - Viola


Torke - Ash

Walton - Viola Concerto


Beethoven - Symphony No. 5

Friday, January 6, 2012

2:00 pm Verizon Hall

It's fate knocking at the door. The beginning four notes of Beethoven's Fifth are the most poignant ever written. David Zinman brings his own unique interpretive style to the work, including the brisk tempos Beethoven indicated, and a period-informed approach to orchestral sound. Walton's extremely challenging Viola Concerto will be in the virtuosic hands of Philadelphia Orchestra Principal Viola Choong-Jin Chang.

program notes

Julian Onderdonk, Associate Professor of Music History, West Chester University

Pre-Concert Conversations