David Kim Plays Tchaikovsky

Cristian Macelaru - Conductor

David Kim - Violin


Ravel - Rapsodie espagnole

Tchaikovsky - Sérénade mélancolique, for violin and orchestra

Tchaikovsky - Valse-scherzo, for violin and orchestra

Stravinsky - Petrushka

Thursday, December 12, 2013

8:00 pm Verizon Hall

Philadelphia Orchestra Associate Conductor Cristian Macelaru has graciously agreed to conduct The Philadelphia Orchestra in its Verizon Hall concerts on December 12, 13, and 14 at the Kimmel Center in Philadelphia. The concerts also feature Philadelphia Orchestra Concertmaster David Kim as violin soloist. Pablo Heras-Casado, who was originally scheduled to conduct, has withdrawn due to a personal family emergency and is returning home to Spain. Please note that the program remains unchanged.

Two delightful pieces by Tchaikovsky are personally meaningful to Kim, who was the only American awarded a prize at the 1986 quadrennial Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow. Ravel’s glistening Rapsodie espagnole is infused with Latin rhythms and folksongs, reminiscent of the Spanish countryside. Stravinsky’s ballet Petrushka, about a puppet that comes to life, was written in Paris and is an energetic and satirical work full of wit and humor.


David Kim, Philadelphia Orchestra Concertmaster

Pre-Concert Conversations