Yannick and Hélène Open the Season

Yannick Nézet-Séguin - Conductor

Hélène Grimaud - Piano


Coleman - Umoja, for orchestra

Bartók - Piano Concerto No. 3

INTERMISSION - Intermission

Dvorák - Symphony No. 9 ("From the New World")

Sunday, September 22, 2019

2:00 pm Verizon Hall

Umoja, a world premiere commission by American composer Valerie Coleman, launches our 2019-20 season. Ms. Coleman's spirited music draws from Afro-Cuban, jazz, and classical genres. Umoja—meaning unity in Swahili—is alive with all these influences.  Bartók's gorgeous Third Concerto, performed by Yannick's good friend Hélène Grimaud, is as vibrant today as the day The Philadelphia Orchestra and Eugene Ormandy gave the world premiere at the Academy of Music in 1946. This program, inspired by music of American roots, concludes with Dvorák's wondrous“New World” Symphony.
Group Tickets

Ticket orders of 10 or more save! Call 215.875.7695 or Contact Group Sales

Contact Group Sales

This Concert is a part of the following subscription packages:

Subscription Packages