All Tchaikovsky

Kensho Watanabe - Conductor

Edgar Moreau - Cello


Tchaikovsky - Capriccio italien

Tchaikovsky - Rococo Variations, for cello and orchestra


Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 1 ("Winter Daydreams")

Thursday, January 31, 2019

7:30 pm Verizon Hall

The breadth and depth of Tchaikovsky's musical genius are on display in this dazzling celebration of his music, led by our dynamic Assistant Conductor Kensho Watanabe. Inspired by a trip to sunny Italy, Tchaikovsky transforms the sounds he heard all around him into a delightful “Italian Fantasia” (his original title for Capriccio italien). He turns to Mozart for inspiration in his Rococo Variations, the closest Tchaikovsky came to writing a cello concerto, performed by rising star Edgar Moreau. And perfectly attuned to the season, the program concludes with his “Winter Daydreams” Symphony.
program notes
Group Tickets

Ticket orders of 10 or more save! Call 215.875.7695 or Contact Group Sales

Contact Group Sales

This Concert is a part of the following subscription packages:

Subscription Packages