André Watts Plays Beethoven

Jakub Hruša - Conductor

André Watts - Piano


Janácek - Jealousy

Beethoven - Piano Concerto No. 1


Dvorák - Symphony No. 8

Friday, November 14, 2014

2:00 pm Verizon Hall

Group Tickets: Ticket orders of 10 or more save! Call 215.875.7695 or Contact Group Sales

Philadelphia favorite André Watts—who has been captivating Philadelphia Orchestra audiences since making his debut as a 10-year-old winner of the Orchestra’s Student Competition in 1957—performs Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 1. This piano concerto wasn’t actually the first he wrote, but the composer himself was at the keyboard when the work premiered. Making his Philadelphia Orchestra debut is the exciting young conductor Jakub Hruša, music director of the Prague Philharmonia. He leads the Philadelphians in a program that also includes Dvorák’s ebullient Eighth Symphony and one of Janácek’s earliest works, Jealousy, a piece originally intended as an overture for his opera Jenufa.


Davyd Booth, Violinist, The Philadelphia Orchestra, and Jakub Hrůša, Music Director of the Prague Philharmonia

Pre-Concert Conversations