Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 2

David Kim - Leader

Imogen Cooper - Piano and Leader


Grieg - "Holberg" Suite

Beethoven - Piano Concerto No. 2


Mozart - Symphony No. 38 ("Prague")

Friday, February 6, 2015

2:00 pm Verizon Hall

Journey back in time to an era before the modern conductor. Once again, Concertmaster David Kim will lead the ensemble, as he did for adoring Philadelphia audiences in 2013, in a subscription concert featuring Mozart. In this performance, Grieg’s 1884 “Holberg” Suite, for strings only, is based on Norwegian dance music from the previous century. Mozart’s Symphony No. 38, the “Prague,” gives the Orchestra’s brilliant wind players many chances to shine. And Imogen Cooper leads from the keyboard in Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 2. (Beethoven himself made his public debut as the soloist in this piece in 1795.) While there’s no question the conductor plays a crucial role in the modern symphony orchestra, Kim says hearing the Philadelphians led from the front lines will offer a new perspective on familiar music. “There’ll be a lot of cueing with eyebrows, heads, and facial expressions ... it’s pretty magical.” And of course it’ll sound sublime.

Group Tickets

Ticket orders of 10 or more save! Call 215.875.7695 or Contact Group Sales


David Kim, Philadelphia Orchestra Concertmaster

Pre-Concert Conversations