Hidden from small

Bell, Bernstein, and Brahms

Yannick Nézet-Séguin - Conductor

Joshua Bell - Violin


Gabriela Lena Frank - Concertino Cusqueño (world premiere)

Bernstein - Serenade (after Plato's Symposium)


Brahms - Symphony No. 4

Thursday, October 25, 2012

8:00 pm Verizon Hall

Violinist Joshua Bell returns to Philadelphia, performing Bernstein's lyrical Serenade, inspired by the great Greek philosophers and their testimonies on love and romance. The second half of the program features the Fourth Symphony of Brahms, long a favorite of Philadelphia audiences, known for its expressive melodies and rich harmonies. To open the program, Gabriela Lena Frank composes a celebratory new work--commissioned for the inaugural concerts of our new music director. Her music often reflects her diverse heritage from Peru, China, and Lithuania.


Gabriela Lena Frank, Composer

Pre-Concert Conversations