Brahms and Mozart

David Afkham - Conductor

Seong-Jin Cho - Piano


Beethoven - Overture, Coriolan

Mozart - Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor, K. 466


Brahms - Symphony No. 1

Friday, November 2, 2018

2:00 pm Verizon Hall
A pair of Philadelphia Orchestra debuts, by two rapidly rising stars: David Afkham on the podium and Seong-Jin Cho at the keyboard. Cho brings his prize-winning technique to Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 20. Beethoven's stirring Coriolan Overture was inspired by a play about war and peace in ancient Rome. Brahms was daunted by Beethoven's towering legacy; that may be why it took him so long to finish his majestic Symphony No. 1. For almost 150 years, audiences have agreed it was worth the wait.

Immediately following the performance, join musicians from The Philadelphia Orchestra for a Chamber Postlude. Free for all ticket holders in Verizon Hall.   For program details, click here.

program notes
Group Tickets

Ticket orders of 10 or more save! Call 215.875.7695 or Contact Group Sales

Contact Group Sales

This Concert is a part of the following subscription packages:

Subscription Packages