Brahms and Stravinsky

Susanna Mälkki - Conductor

Juliette Kang - Violin


Respighi - Botticelli Triptych

Stravinsky - Violin Concerto


Brahms - Symphony No. 4

Friday, November 21, 2014

2:00 pm Verizon Hall

Group Tickets: Ticket orders of 10 or more save! Call 215.875.7695 or Contact Group Sales

The gifted Juliette Kang plays Stravinsky’s demanding neoclassical Violin Concerto, a work the composer—having scorned the violin concertos of Mozart, Beethoven, and Brahms—said was influenced by no one. The Concerto inspired others, though. George Balanchine used the music in two of his ballets. Brahms’s Romantic Symphony No. 4, a paragon of the repertoire, gets a new life with Finnish conductor Susanna Mälkki, making her Philadelphia Orchestra debut. The program opens with Respighi’s Botticelli Triptych, a work most definitely inspired by three paintings of the Italian Renaissance master: The Allegory of Spring, The Adoration of the Magi, and The Birth of Venus, all of which hang in Florence’s venerable Uffizi Gallery.


Scott Terrell, Music Director of the Lexington Philharmonic

Pre-Concert Conversations