Brahms: Symphony No. 1

Alain Altinoglu - Conductor

Veronika Eberle - Violin


Dutilleux - Métaboles

Mendelssohn - Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64

NON-ORCHESTRA WORK (SOLO) - Sergei Prokofiev / Andante dolce--Tema con variazioni, from Sonata for Solo Violin in D major, Op. 115


Brahms - Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68

Thursday, October 27, 2016

8:00 pm Verizon Hall
This season offers an exceptional opportunity to hear all four of Brahms’s great symphonies, led by four different conductors. We begin with the powerful Symphony No. 1, the composer’s answer to Beethoven and the culmination of 15 years’ work. Parisian Alain Altinoglu, who earned raves for his “superb performances” (The Philadelphia Inquirer) at his 2014 debut, conducts. Veronika Eberle is our soloist in Mendelssohn’s luminous Violin Concerto, which never fails to captivate—and neither does Eberle, an astounding violinist just 27 years old. Yannick calls Henri Dutilleux “one of the finest French composers of the 20th century.” Métaboles is a prime example of his artistry. This program is an irresistible combination of 19th-century favorites and a 20th-century standout.
Group Tickets

Ticket orders of 10 or more save! Call 215.875.7695 or Contact Group Sales

Contact Group Sales

This Concert is a part of the following subscription packages:

Subscription Packages