Brahms: Symphony No. 4

Yannick Nézet-Séguin - Conductor

Peter Richard Conte - Organ

Vanessa Vasquez - Soprano

Chrystal E. Williams - Mezzo-soprano

Jonas Hacker - Tenor

André Courville - Bass-baritone


Brahms - Selections from Eleven Chorale Preludes, Op. 122

Bach - Cantata No. 150, "Nach dir, Herr, verlanget mich," BWV 150


Brahms - Symphony No. 4 in E minor, Op. 98

Thursday, February 23, 2017

8:00 pm Verizon Hall

Yannick has spoken often of his great passion for Brahms, possibly his favorite composer. The culmination of this season’s symphonic cycle features selections from his final musical work, the Eleven Choral Preludes, as well as his last symphony and the Bach cantata that inspired it. The Choral Preludes, originally written for organ, are a natural companion to Bach, the master of sacred organ and choral music, who is represented here by his Cantata No. 150. And in an homage across time, Brahms based the final movement of his majestic Fourth Symphony on the final movement of the same Bach Cantata. Hear the Choral Preludes in beautiful new transcriptions by Detlev Glanert alongside the original organ works in this varied presentation featuring the Fred J. Cooper Memorial Organ. Marvelous works on their own; even better in context with each other; sublime with Yannick and the Philadelphians!

Group Tickets

Ticket orders of 10 or more save! Call 215.875.7695 or Contact Group Sales

Contact Group Sales

This Concert is a part of the following subscription packages:

Subscription Packages