Bronfman Plays Beethoven

Vladimir Jurowski - Conductor

Yefim Bronfman - Piano


Beethoven - Piano Concerto No. 5 ("Emperor")


Miaskovsky - Symphony No. 10

Janacek - Taras Bulba

Saturday, February 13, 2016

8:00 pm Verizon Hall

Any time we have Yefim Bronfman playing Beethoven with Vladimir Jurowski is a special occasion! With eloquent support from Jurowski and the Orchestra, Bronfman brings his magisterial keyboard skills to Beethoven's towering "Emperor" Concerto, revealing all the wonders of this masterwork. In the second half of the program, Jurowski turns to Nikolai Miaskovsky, a prolific composer whose Tenth Symphony is based on a fantastic Pushkin poem. The U.S. premiere was in 1930, with The Philadelphia Orchestra and Leopold Stokowski, thanks to the personal urging of Miaskovsky's friend and colleague Sergei Prokofiev. Another burst of romantic nationalism rounds out our program, with Janacek's tone poem Taras Bulba. It's hard-hitting, thrilling, and robust.

Group Tickets

Ticket orders of 10 or more save! Call 215.875.7695 or Contact Group Sales

Contact Group Sales

This Concert is a part of the following subscription packages:

Subscription Packages