Carnegie Hall

Yannick Nézet-Séguin - Conductor

Lang Lang - Piano


Rachmaninoff - Piano Concerto No. 1

Mahler - Symphony No. 10 (Deryck Cooke performing edition)

Wednesday, May 11, 2016

8:00 pm Carnegie Hall

With a rousing brass fanfare and a rapid solo passage of tumbling octaves, the 18-year-old Rachmaninoff introduced himself to the musical world with his Piano Concerto No. 1. Rachmaninoff stresses flash and fire in this concerto, but its slow movement looks ahead to the lush works of his mature years. At the other end of the spectrum is Mahler at the end of his life. Mahler never lived to complete anything more than the opening Adagio of his Symphony No. 10, but musicologist Deryck Cooke reconstructed the symphony from the composer’s sketches; the result is a five-movement journey from despair to redemption.

Plan Your Visit