Dvorak From the New World

Robert Spano - Conductor

Benjamin Beilman - Violin


Bernstein - Overture to Candide

Higdon - Violin Concerto

Dvorák - Symphony No. 9 (“From the New World”)

Sunday, July 12, 2015

6:00 pm Gerald R. Ford Amphitheater, Vail

American violinist Benjamin Beilman performs Higdon’s Pulitzer Prize-winning concerto, which starts eerily and grows with the rhapsodic solo violin. Completing the evening is Dvorák’s rich celebration of Americana, a work inspired in part by American Indian music and African-American spirituals, as well as the sprawling plains of Middle America.

Higdon received the 2010 Pulitzer Prize in Music for her Violin Concerto, with the committee citing Higdon's work as a “deeply engaging piece that combines flowing lyricism with dazzling virtuosity.”