Fabulous Philadelphians: the Commissions

Yannick Nézet-Séguin - Conductor

Don Liuzzi - Timpani

Ricardo Morales - Clarinet


Bernstein - Suite from Fancy Free

Wright - Resounding Drums, for timpani and orchestra (Philadelphia Orchestra commission—world premiere)


Leshnoff - Clarinet Concerto (Philadelphia Orchestra commission—world premiere)

Prokofiev - Symphony No. 7

Saturday, April 16, 2016

8:00 pm Verizon Hall

Glimpse the future of the Philadelphia Sound as Yannick and the Orchestra continue their proud tradition of commissioning new works for its principal players. These concerts feature world-premiere showpieces for two more of our outstanding principals: Ricardo Morales performing a new Clarinet Concerto by Jonathan Leshnoff ("I'm mesmerized by his melodic style," says Morales), and Principal Timpani Don Liuzzi with, yes, a timpani concerto (from Temple University's Maurice Wright). Liuzzi says he normally loves blending into the famous Philadelphia Sound, but "when it's time to play big, I'll play big!" Ricardo and Don share the stage with Leonard Bernstein's suite from his ballet Fancy Free and the program concludes with Sergei Prokofiev's final symphony, his mighty Seventh, given its U.S. premiere by the Orchestra and Eugene Ormandy. Good company!

Group Tickets

Ticket orders of 10 or more save! Call 215.875.7695 or Contact Group Sales

Contact Group Sales

This Concert is a part of the following subscription packages:

Subscription Packages