A Farewell to Vienna

Yannick Nézet-Séguin - Conductor

Leif Ove Andsnes - Piano


Webern - Im Sommerwind

Schumann - Piano Concerto


Brahms - Symphony No. 2

Friday, January 29, 2016

2:00 pm Verizon Hall

We end our sojourn in Vienna with three more legendary works, exemplifying the rich heritage of this unparalleled musical capital. Webern's Im Sommerwind (In the Summer Wind), a richly orchestrated tone poem in the late-Romantic style, is a glorious evocation of a summer's day. The Philadelphia Orchestra gave the world premiere in 1962 at a three-day Webern Festival in Seattle with Ormandy conducting. Schumann also spent time composing in Vienna. The incredible Leif Ove Andsnes brings out all the wonder of the Piano Concerto, Schumann's only one, which was years in the making. And Brahms, a colossus of the Viennese musical scene with close musical and personal ties to Schumann, offers a fitting finale, with his stirring Symphony No. 2. Auf Wiedersehen, Vienna!

Please join us immediately following the concert for a Chamber Postlude, featuring members of The Philadelphia Orchestra.

Mozart Adagio in F major, K. 580a, for English horn, two violins, and cello

Françaix Quartet, for English horn, violin, viola, and cello

Elizabeth Starr Masoudnia English Horn

William Polk Violin

Kerri Ryan Violin and Viola

Yumi Kendall Cello

Group Tickets

Ticket orders of 10 or more save! Call 215.875.7695 or Contact Group Sales

Contact Group Sales

This Concert is a part of the following subscription packages:

Subscription Packages