Hidden from small

Garrick Ohlsson and Brahms

Yannick Nézet-Séguin - Conductor

Garrick Ohlsson - Piano


Brahms - Piano Concerto No. 1


Strauss - Death and Tranfiguration

Strauss - Suite from Der Rosenkavalier

Thursday, April 4, 2013

8:00 pm Verizon Hall

The Philadelphia Orchestra has announced a change for this week's subscription concerts, April 4-6, 2013. Conductor Jaap van Zweden has regrettably withdrawn from conducting the performances due to family reasons. This Thursday, April 4 and Friday, April 5, Philadelphia Orchestra Music Director Yannick Nézet-Séguin will conduct. On Saturday, April 6, Associate Conductor Cristian Macelaru will lead the ensemble in his Philadelphia Orchestra subscription debut. As a result, the repertoire has been changed slightly. Brahms's Piano Concerto No. 1 and Strauss's Suite from Der Rosenkavalier will remain on the program, while Schoenberg's Transfigured Night will be replaced by Strauss's tone poem Death and Transfiguration. Click here to learn more.

Garrick Ohlsson's powerful yet graceful style is the perfect match for Brahms's First Piano Concerto. With the endearing melodies and waltzes from his opera Der Rosenkavalier, Richard Strauss elicits exceptionally powerful sounds from the orchestra.


Michael Johns, Associate in Performance, Swarthmore College

Pre-Concert Conversations