Morales Plays Rossini

Juanjo Mena - Conductor

Ricardo Morales - Clarinet


Rimsky-Korsakov - Capriccio espagnol

Debussy - Rhapsody No. 1, for clarinet and orchestra

Rossini - Introduction, Theme, and Variations for Clarinet and Orchestra


Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 4

Sunday, November 30, 2014

2:00 pm Verizon Hall

Group Tickets: Ticket orders of 10 or more save! Call 215.875.7695 or Contact Group Sales

A frequent soloist, Philadelphia Orchestra Principal Clarinet Ricardo Morales has been praised for his “fleet technique, utterly natural musical grace, and the lyricism and breath control of a fine opera singer.” (The New York Times) In these concerts, he brings his trademark personality and prowess to two excellent works for clarinet never performed by the Orchestra on subscription: Rossini’s animated Introduction, Theme, and Variations for Clarinet and Orchestra and Debussy’s challenging First Rhapsody. Juanjo Mena, chief conductor of the BBC Philharmonic, also leads the Orchestra in Tchaikovsky’s lofty Symphony No. 4, a masterpiece even the composer acknowledged as “definitely the best work I have written so far.” The program begins with Rimsky-Korsakov’s lively and popular Capriccio espagnol, which, surprisingly, hasn’t been on a Philadelphia Orchestra subscription performance in over 40 years.


Paul Arnold, Violinist, The Philadelphia Orchestra

Pre-Concert Conversations