Hidden from small

Music of Copland and Gershwin

Giancarlo Guerrero - Conductor

Kirill Gerstein - Piano


Barber - Medea's Dance of Vengeance

Gershwin - Piano Concerto in F


Copland - Appalachian Spring

Sierra - Sinfonia No. 4

Thursday, November 1, 2012

8:00 pm Verizon Hall

As America elects its president, celebrate our democracy with composers whose music is as varied as the American landscape. Copland's Appalachian Spring portrays the American countryside with brilliant simplicity, while Gershwin's Piano Concerto in F is propelled by the urban energy of New York's jazz clubs. The music of Puerto Rican-born Roberto Sierra is known for its rhythmic propulsion and danceable melodies. Experience the Philadelphia premiere of his Sinfonia No. 4, commissioned by a consortium of orchestras, including The Philadelphia Orchestra, in collaboration with the Sphinx Organization, which supports minority composers.

Paul Arnold, Violinist, The Philadelphia Orchestra

Pre-Concert Conversations