Hidden from small

Ravel and Debussy

Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos - Conductor

Augustin Hadelich - Violin


Lalo - Symphonie espagnole, for violin and orchestra

Debussy - La Mer

Ravel - Suite No. 2 from Daphnis and Chloé

Friday, October 25, 2013

2:00 pm Verizon Hall

A French evening of exotic, colorful music complete with a trip to Spain and a visit to the land of Greek mythology. Ravel’s Second Suite from his ballet Daphnis and Chloé is another great orchestral showpiece that includes the energetic General Dance as a rowdy finale. Debussy paints colorful images of a musical seascape in his most-famous work, La Mer. German violinist Augustin Hadelich makes his Orchestra debut performing Lalo’s exuberant Symphonie espagnole.

program notes

Augustin Hadelich, Violinist, and Cristian Măcelaru, Philadelphia Orchestra Associate Conductor

Pre-Concert Conversations