SoundLAB: At First Light

Robert Whalen - Conductor

SoundLAB - Ensemble

Emma Resmini - Bass flute

Eric Umble - Clarinet

Marina Kiefferstein - Violin

Giancarlo Latta - Violin

Josh Wareham - Viola

Issei Herr - Cello

Edo Frenkel - Piano

Katherine Skovira - Soprano


Knussen - Coursing, Op. 17, for chamber orchestra (Philadelphia premiere)

Mochizuki - All that is including me, for bass flute, clarinet, and violin (U.S. premiere)

Reverdy - Dix musiques minutes, for string trio (U.S. premiere)

Magalhaes - Mobile, for prepared piano (U.S. premiere)

Thomas - Plea for Peace, a vocalise for soprano and string quartet (Philadelphia premiere)

Thomas - Prayer and Celebration, for chamber orchestra (Philadelphia premiere)

Benjamin - At First Light, for chamber orchestra (Philadelphia premiere)

Thursday, October 18, 2018

7:30 pm Phila. Episcopal Cathedral
Just as Barnes and Stokowski imported innovative art to the region, two chamber concerts of contemporary repertoire will serve as a laboratory for new music in Philadelphia. Featuring musicians from around the world and curated by new music presenter SoundLAB, the chamber concerts will include U.S. and Philadelphia premieres of works by living composers.  

New contemporary music ensemble SoundLAB is led by Music Director Robert Whalen and Artistic Director Katherine Skovira, whose “diabolical enthusiasm … left me nearly begging for mercy … the artistic equivalent of NASA's New Horizons” (Philadelphia Inquirer). SoundLAB's final appearance in the Barnes/Stokowski Festival is this virtuosic program of contemporary masterpieces, including six Philadelphia premieres and three American premieres, with works by Oliver Knussen, George Benjamin, and Composer-in-Residence Augusta Read Thomas. The program features performances of Thomas's Prayer and Celebration and Plea for Peace alongside the works of French composer Michèle Reverdy, Japanese composer Misato Mochizuki, and Brazilian composer Michelle Agnes Magalhaes, whose gripping voices will reach a new Philadelphia audience in their American premieres.

SoundLAB Ensemble (Marina Kiefferstein and Giancarlo Latta, violins; Josh Wareham, viola; Issei Herr, cello; Emilio Guarino, bass; Emma Resmini, flute; Andrew Nogal, oboe; Eric Umble, clarinet; Ben Roidl-Ward, bassoon; Sheryl Hadeka, horn; Gareth Flowers, trumpet; Weston Olencki, trombone; Won Suk Lee, percussion; Edo Frenkel, piano; Katherine Skovira, soprano)

This concert is FREE and open to the public, but online RSVPs are encouraged.

Group Tickets

Ticket orders of 10 or more save! Call 215.875.7695 or Contact Group Sales

Contact Group Sales