Tchaikovsky & Mendelssohn

Pablo Heras-Casado - Conductor

Akiko Suwanai - Violin


Tchaikovsky - The Tempest

Prokofiev - Violin Concerto No. 2


Mendelssohn - Symphony No. 3 ("Scottish")

Friday, April 1, 2016

2:00 pm Verizon Hall

An ocean voyage, a thundering storm, two young lovers, all presided over by a powerful wizard! As he did so memorably with Romeo and Juliet, Tchaikovsky once again turns to Shakespeare for inspiration, delivering a brilliant evocation of the magical doings in The Tempest. We fast-forward into the 20th century with Tchaikovsky's fellow Russian, Prokofiev, and his spirited Second Violin Concerto, echoing with everything from Russian folk tunes to Spanish castanets, performed by the sensational Akiko Suwanai. We complete our journey through time and space with a return to the Classical, and Mendelssohn's "Scottish" Symphony, completed in 1842. The sizzling conductor Pablo Heras-Casado makes his Philadelphia Orchestra debut in this stimulating program.

Group Tickets

Ticket orders of 10 or more save! Call 215.875.7695 or Contact Group Sales

Contact Group Sales

This Concert is a part of the following subscription packages:

Subscription Packages