Tchaikovsky Spectacular with Fireworks!

Kensho Watanabe - Conductor

Zachary Mowitz - Cello

Elena Perroni - Soprano


Tchaikovsky - Waltz from Eugene Onegin

Tchaikovsky - Rococo Variations, for cello and orchestra

Tchaikovsky - Letter Scene, from Eugene Onegin

Tchaikovsky - Suite from The Sleeping Beauty

Tchaikovsky - 1812 Overture

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

8:00 pm Mann Center for the Performing Arts
The breathtaking range of Russia's most beloved cultural export, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, is on display to open our 2018 summer season with The Philadelphia Orchestra. Elegant and fiery, soulful and triumphant, Tchaikovsky's music captures the longing of the human spirit and celebrates the vitality only music can extol. His most popular opera, Eugene Onegin, centers this program, a story of love and loss first immortalized by Pushkin in his novel of the same name. Soprano Elena Perroni returns from her triumph in the Mann's The Heavens are Telling performance last summer to beguile with the Letter Scene from the opera. In it, the teenage Tatiana rhapsodizes about her first love. The Waltz that anchors one of the two glittering party scenes in the opera opens our program.

Cellist Zachary Mowitz, one of the latest winners of The Philadelphia Orchestra's Albert M. Greenfield Student Competition, will dazzle in his performance of the elegant Variations on a Rococo Theme, one of many homages to past times Tchaikovsky wrote in several forms throughout his career. That career also contained three now immortal ballets from which we excerpt the greatest music of The Sleeping Beauty including the majestic Waltz. And what all-Tchaikovsky program would be complete without the 1812 Overture, culminating with fireworks!