Tchaikovsky's Winter Dreams

Gianandrea Noseda - Conductor

Leonidas Kavakos - Violin


Liszt - Mazeppa

Sibelius - Violin Concerto


Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 1 ("Winter Daydreams")

Thursday, November 19, 2015

8:00 pm Verizon Hall

A very good friend of The Philadelphia Orchestra, the much-sought after Italian conductor Gianandrea Noseda returns to lead two programs of musical travelogues. This first program kicks off the wintry season traversing the icy landscapes of Finland, Poland, and Russia.

Tchaikovsky's First Symphony ("Winter Daydreams") paints a vivid picture of the snowy Russian countryside. "There is a particular quality of the sound of this orchestra, which is connected with the old Russian way of making sound," says Noseda, and it will be on full display with this shimmering delight by Tchaikovsky.

The "spectacular" Leonidas Kavakos, "a marvel of exactitude" (The Philadelphia Inquirer), returns with the exquisite and demanding Sibelius Violin Concerto. Kavakos, who was still in his teens when he came to international attention winning the Sibelius Competition in 1985, performs Sibelius's depiction of chilling Scandinavian fjords.

Lord Byron and Victor Hugo both told the tale of Ivan Mazeppa, a Ukrainian who seduced the wrong Polish princess and was tied to a wild horse as punishment. Liszt's fast-paced symphonic poem sets the folk story to lively music in our opening work, which, like the stallion in Byron's poem, is "loosed … with a sudden lash."

Group Tickets

Ticket orders of 10 or more save! Call 215.875.7695 or Contact Group Sales

Contact Group Sales

This Concert is a part of the following subscription packages:

Subscription Packages