Tenth Anniversary Fred J. Cooper Memorial Organ Celebration

Yannick Nézet-Séguin - Conductor

Fred Haas - Organ

Paul Jacobs - Organ


Hill - "Happy Birthday to You"

Barber - Toccata festiva, Op. 36, for organ and orchestra

Rouse - Organ Concerto


Saint-Saëns - Symphony No. 3 in C minor, Op. 78 ("Organ")

NON-ORCHESTRA WORK (SOLO) - Charles-Marie Widor / Toccata, from Organ Symphony No. 5 in F minor, Op. 42, No. 1

Friday, November 18, 2016

2:00 pm Verizon Hall

Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Christopher Rouse summons breathtaking texture, color, and volume—much like Verizon Hall's 7,000-pipe Fred J. Cooper Memorial Organ. In celebration of the magnificent instrument's 10th anniversary, Rouse has been commissioned to write a new concerto for the King of Instruments. Grammy Award-winning organist Paul Jacobs returns as Yannick leads the Philadelphians in this world premiere.
program notes
This performance was made possible in part by the Wyncote Foundation
Group Tickets

Ticket orders of 10 or more save! Call 215.875.7695 or Contact Group Sales

Contact Group Sales

This Concert is a part of the following subscription packages:

Subscription Packages