Yannick and Yuja Open the Season

Yannick Nézet-Séguin - Conductor

Yuja Wang - Piano

Yuja Wang - piano


Smith - "The Star-Spangled Banner"

Chopin - Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor, Op. 21

NON-ORCHESTRA WORK (SOLO) - Georges Bizet/arr. Horowitz / Variations on Themes from Bizet's Carmen


Berlioz - Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14

Saturday, September 24, 2016

8:00 pm Verizon Hall

Yannick launches his fifth season with high-powered passion, joined by the Philadelphia favorite Yuja Wang. “I need to perform to feel alive,” says the Chinese-born and Curtis-trained pianist, who performs Chopin’s Piano Concerto No. 2. The “poet of the piano” wrote just two piano concertos; this is actually the first composed, its gorgeous melodies written when he was just 19 years old and on the verge of abandoning Poland for Paris. (Hear the First Concerto January 19-21, 2017.) Programs inspired by Paris are sprinkled throughout the season, beginning with this journey to the City of Light in pursuit of Berlioz’s unrequited love: actress Harriet Smithson. The composer’s obsession with her inspired the Symphonie fantastique—and most likely drove Berlioz to opium and madness—but the electrifying result showcases the musicians of The Philadelphia Orchestra in spectacular fashion.

This performance is LiveNote enabled.

This concert is sponsored by Robert and Lynne Pollack.
Group Tickets

Ticket orders of 10 or more save! Call 215.875.7695 or Contact Group Sales

Contact Group Sales

This Concert is a part of the following subscription packages:

Subscription PackagesSubscription Packages