Yannick Conducts Brahms

Yannick Nézet-Séguin - Conductor

Jean-Guihen Queyras - Cello


Brahms - Symphony No. 3


Haydn - Cello Concerto in C major

Strauss - Suite from Der Rosenkavalier

Saturday, December 6, 2014

8:00 pm Verizon Hall

Yannick returns to lead The Philadelphians in Brahms’s beautiful Third Symphony, the most lyrical and sensitive of his works in the genre and inspired by the classicism of Haydn. Haydn’s bright and sparkling Concerto in C major was the first of his two cello concertos and for years was presumed lost. Fortunately for the music world, it was found. You’ll hear it on these programs with the virtuosic Jean-Guihen Queyras (making his Philadelphia Orchestra debut). The Suite from Richard Strauss’s comic opera Der Rosenkavalier completes the evening in Viennese splendor from the noble opening horns to the glorious final waltz.

Group Tickets

Ticket orders of 10 or more save! Call 215.875.7695 or Contact Group Sales


Davyd Booth, Violinist, The Philadelphia Orchestra

Pre-Concert Conversations

Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Music Director

Post-Concert Conversations