Hilary Hahn Hilary Hahn Hilary Hahn

Hilary Hahn Plays Prokofiev

Jan 07, 2021, 7:30 PM
Jan 08, 2021, 2:00 PM
Jan 09, 2021, 8:00 PM

Performance Details

Xian Zhang Conductor
Monica Czausz Organ
Hilary Hahn Violin


Eötvös When It Hits the Ocean Below (world premiere—Philadelphia Orchestra commission)
Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 1
Saint-Saëns Symphony No. 3 (“Organ”)

From its haunting, dreamy opening until the final notes float away, Prokofiev’s urgent and rapturous First Violin Concerto soars in the captivating hands of Hilary Hahn. Xian Zhang makes her Philadelphia Orchestra subscription debut with this hallmark program of WomenNOW, also leading Melody Eötvös’s powerful new organ work, which will evoke the thunderous force of melting icebergs.

Verizon Hall

Due to rapidly evolving developments, and in accordance with the City of Philadelphia’s recommendation that all large gatherings be suspended to limit community transmission of COVID-19, all scheduled Philadelphia Orchestra rehearsals, performances, and events through May 10, 2020, are cancelled. Learn more