Mitsuko Uchida Mitsuko Uchida Mitsuko Uchida

Mitsuko Meets Yannick

May 06, 2021, 7:30 PM
May 08, 2021, 8:00 PM
May 09, 2021, 2:00 PM

Performance Details

Yannick Nézet-Séguin Conductor
Mitsuko Uchida Piano


Bates Suite from The (R)evolution of Steve Jobs (world premiere—Philadelphia Orchestra co-commission)
Ravel Piano Concerto in G major
Shostakovich Symphony No. 8

The divine Mitsuko Uchida, “one of the great pianists of our, or any, time” (The New York Times), reveals all the spirit of Ravel’s jazzy concerto, while Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 8 evokes the heroism of World War II. We’ll ask you to please silence your iPhones for the world premiere of a suite from Mason Bates’s opera about the tech guru Steve Jobs.

Verizon Hall

Due to rapidly evolving developments, and in accordance with the City of Philadelphia’s recommendation that all large gatherings be suspended to limit community transmission of COVID-19, all scheduled Philadelphia Orchestra rehearsals, performances, and events through May 10, 2020, are cancelled. Learn more