Yannick Nézet-Séguin Yannick Nézet-Séguin Yannick Nézet-Séguin

Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 8

May 14, 2021, 8:00 PM

Performance Details

Yannick Nézet-Séguin Conductor
Paolo Bordignon Organ


Bach Selections from The Art of the Fugue, for organ and mixed ensembles
Shostakovich Symphony No. 8

Hear a masterwork from a titan of Russian music. A direct response to the horrors and heroism of World War II, Shostakovich’s towering Eighth Symphony was initially condemned in the composer’s Soviet homeland. Today it can be heard as the musical achievement it is, impeccably realized by Yannick and Your Philadelphia Orchestra. Plus a special one-night-only presentation of Bach’s late masterwork The Art of the Fugue, arranged for organ and chamber ensembles.

Verizon Hall

Due to rapidly evolving developments, and in accordance with the City of Philadelphia’s recommendation that all large gatherings be suspended to limit community transmission of COVID-19, all scheduled Philadelphia Orchestra rehearsals, performances, and events through May 10, 2020, are cancelled. Learn more