Davóne Tines Davóne Tines Davóne Tines

Sermon and Mozart's Symphony No. 40

Nov 05, 2021, 2:00 PM
Nov 06, 2021, 8:00 PM
Nov 07, 2021, 2:00 PM

Performance Details

Verizon Hall

Yannick Nézet-Séguin Conductor
Davóne Tines Bass-baritone

Various Sermon
I. “Shake the Heavens,” from El Niño (A Nativity Oratorio), by John Adams
II. “Vigil,” by Igee Dieudonné and Davóne Tines
III. “You Want the Truth, but You Don’t Want to Know,” from X: The Life and Times of Malcolm X, by Anthony Davis
Mozart Symphony No. 40

From the extraordinary simplicity of its first movement to the brilliant energy of its bursting finale, Mozart’s Symphony No. 40 is among his most passionate statements.

In Sermon, bass-baritone and activist Davóne Tines performs contemporary works by John Adams and Anthony Davis, as well as “Vigil,” both a work of art and a call to action co-written by Igee Dieudonné and Tines and dedicated to the memory of Breonna Taylor. Sermon echoes the words of James Baldwin (Excerpt from The Fire Next Time), Langston Hughes (“Hope”), and Maya Angelou (“We Saw Beyond Our Seeming”) with compelling themes that are still relevant today.

Verizon Hall