Esa-Pekka Salonen Esa-Pekka Salonen Esa-Pekka Salonen

An Evening with Esa-Pekka Salonen


August 5, 2021, 8:00 PM ET –
August 12, 2021, 11:00 PM ET


Please note: Digital Stage concerts begin with a 

performance premiere, followed by on-demand 

access for one week.

Performance Details

Esa-Pekka Salonen Conductor
Yefim Bronfman Piano

Berio Four Original Versions of Luigi Boccherini's The Night Retreat of Madrid
Liszt Piano Concerto No. 2
Salonen Stockholm Diary
Sibelius Symphony No. 7

The incomparable conductor and composer Esa-Pekka Salonen and celebrated pianist Yefim Bronfman join the Orchestra for an unforgettable performance on the Digital Stage. 

Salonen’s Stockholm Diary, a powerful composition for string orchestra, complements Berio’s imaginative variations on Boccherini’s The Night Retreat of Madrid and Liszt’s intoxicating Second Piano Concerto.

The performance concludes with the unearthly brilliance of Sibelius’s final symphony, originally called “Symphonic Fantasy.”

All Digital Stage events begin with a performance premiere, streaming in real time. Following the performance premiere, the concert will be available for ticket holders to watch on demand for one week.

Digital Stage FAQ

Digital Stage



Lead support for the Digital Stage is provided by:

Claudia and Richard Balderston
Elaine W. Camarda and A. Morris Williams, Jr.
The CHG Charitable Trust
Edith R. Dixon
Innisfree Foundation
Gretchen and M. Roy Jackson
Dr. Richard M. Klein
Neal W. Krouse
John H. McFadden and Lisa D. Kabnick
The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
Leslie A. Miller and Richard B. Worley
Ralph and Beth Muller
Neubauer Family Foundation
William Penn Foundation
The Pew Center for Arts and Heritage
Peter and Mari Shaw
Dr. and Mrs. Joseph B. Townsend
Waterman Trust
Constance and Sankey Williams
Wyncote Foundation


This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website and personalized content.
Learn more.