Organist Paul Jacobs Organist Paul Jacobs Organist Paul Jacobs

Organ Recital: Paul Jacobs Performs Handel and Bach


April 26, 2021, 8:00 PM ET –
May 3, 2021, 11:00 PM ET


Ticket holders for this performance should log in to
My Account to Watch Now.

Please note: Digital Stage concerts begin with a 

performance premiere, followed by on-demand 

access for one week.

Performance Details

Paul Jacobs Organ

Handel/arr. Jacobs Selections from Organ Concerto, Op. 4, No. 4
Bach/arr. Jacobs Air, from Orchestral Suite No. 3
Handel/arr. Jacobs Organ Concerto, Op. 4, No. 2
Organ virtuoso and longtime friend of the Orchestra Paul Jacobs returns to Verizon Hall this April for a free digital recital on the Fred J. Cooper Memorial Organ.
George Frideric Handel invented the genre of the organ concerto. An accomplished organist in his own right, he composed the work that opens this recital for himself to perform as soloist. Handel found that playing organ concertos (and improvising at the instrument) helped draw audiences and gave him the opportunity to shine as both a composer and performer. Paul Jacobs’s performance of two Handel concertos will put his own mastery of the organ on brilliant display. He also performs Bach’s familiar and melodious Air from the Orchestral Suite No. 3.
The recital is presented as part of the Fred J. Cooper Memorial Organ Experience, an initiative to increase and expand programming for the Fred J. Cooper Memorial Organ in Verizon Hall, the world’s largest mechanical action concert hall pipe organ. It is generously supported by the Wyncote Foundation through Frederick R. Haas, the initiative's artistic advisor and a former Philadelphia Orchestra Board member.

This program runs approximately 1 hour and will be performed without an intermission.

Please note: All Digital Stage events begin with a performance premiere, streaming in real time. Following the performance premiere, the concert will be available for ticket holders to watch on demand for one week.

Digital Stage FAQ

Digital Stage

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website and personalized content.
Learn more.