Saratoga Performing Arts Center Saratoga Performing Arts Center Saratoga Performing Arts Center

Coleman, Bach & Brahms

Aug 12, 2021, 8:00 PM

Performance Details

Yannick Nézet-Séguin Conductor
David Kim Violin
Juliette Kang

Coleman Seven O’Clock Shout
Bach Concerto for Two Violins and String Orchestra
Brahms Symphony No. 1

This special program, dedicated to health care workers, opens with the SPAC premiere of Seven O’Clock Shout, composed as a tribute to frontline workers during the pandemic by American composer Valerie Coleman. Performance Today's 2020 Classical Woman of the Year and one of the Washington Post’s “Top 35 Female Composers in Classical Music,” Valerie Coleman is among the world’s most performed composers living today.

According to Coleman, “To me, Seven O’Clock Shout is a declaration of our survival. It is something that allows us our agency to take back the kindness that is in our hearts and the emotions that cause us such turmoil. … We cheer on the essential workers with a primal and fierce urgency to let them know that we stand with them and each other.”

The evening continues with Bach’s Concerto for Two Violins with Concertmaster David Kim and First Associate Concertmaster Juliette Kang, and Brahms’s lyrically lush Symphony No. 1.

Saratoga Performing Arts Center