Yannick Nézet-Séguin Yannick Nézet-Séguin Yannick Nézet-Séguin

Yannick Conducts American Masters

Oct 07, 2021, 7:30 PM
Oct 08, 2021, 2:00 PM
Oct 09, 2021, 8:00 PM

Performance Details

Yannick Nézet-Séguin Conductor
Laurin Talese Vocalist
Aaron Diehl Piano

Johnson “Lift Every Voice and Sing”
Gershwin Rhapsody in Blue
Still Out of the Silence
Price Symphony No. 4

We begin our new almost-post-pandemic season with unifying American voices from across time and diverse experiences, beginning with James Weldon Johnson’s inspiring anthem “Lift Every Voice and Sing.” Pianist Aaron Diehl pairs William Grant Still’s poignant Out of the Silence with George Gershwin’s swinging and iconic Rhapsody in Blue. Yannick’s passion for sharing music of Florence Price continues with her fourth and final symphony—a reflection of her experiences as a Black woman from the post-Civil War South. Listen for spirituals, syncopation, and a lively dance called the “juba”—brilliantly blended in this original and rarely performed work.

Verizon Hall