Eun Sun Kim Eun Sun Kim Eun Sun Kim

Dvořák’s “New World” Symphony

Feb 12, 2022, 8:00 PM
Feb 13, 2022, 2:00 PM

Performance Details

Eun Sun Kim Conductor 
Juliette Kang Violin

Bates The Rhapsody of Steve Jobs (world premiere—Philadelphia Orchestra co-commission)
Barber Violin Concerto
Dvořák Symphony No. 9 (“From the New World”)

Dvořák’s enchanting Symphony No. 9 has captivated audiences for generations with its majestic fanfares, rich harmonies, and brilliant melodies. Composed “From the New World,” Dvořák reflects on his time in the United States, enriched by his experience of spirituals and American melodies. Composer Mason Bates’s The Rhapsody of Steve Jobs, a new work inspired by music from his opera The (R)evolution of Steve Jobs, tells the story of the man who brought us the iPhone, and who truly changed our world in ways we’re still struggling to understand. 

Verizon Hall