Monica Czausz Monica Czausz Monica Czausz

Saint-Saëns’s “Organ” Symphony

May 19, 2022, 7:30 PM
May 21, 2022, 8:00 PM

Performance Details

Xian Zhang Conductor  
Monica Czausz Organ 

Eötvös When It Hits the Ocean Below (world premiere—Philadelphia Orchestra commission)
Smetana “The Moldau,” from Má vlast 
Saint-Saëns Symphony No. 3 (“Organ”)

The sonorous melodies of Saint-Saëns’s “Organ” Symphony reverberate and glow in the hands of soloist Monica Czausz, known for her creative programming and innovative use of the organ. Verizon Hall’s Fred J. Cooper Memorial Organ, the world’s largest mechanical action concert hall pipe organ, adds its own grandeur to the French composer’s masterpiece. In his ode to the Moldau River, Smetana takes us on a journey through Prague and its surrounding countryside in this audience favorite. Composer Melody Eötvös evokes the thunderous cracking of melting icebergs with the world premiere of her organ work When It Hits the Ocean Below

Verizon Hall