Need info on Broadway, jazz, family, comedy or other genres? Visit


Verizon Hall at the Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts will be rededicated as Marian Anderson Hall, home of The Philadelphia Orchestra

Lang Lang Lang Lang Lang Lang

Opening Night Celebration with Yannick and Lang Lang

Sep 28, 2022, 7:00 PM

This event has passed.

Performance Details

Yannick Nézet-Séguin Conductor 
Lang Lang Piano
Christine Cox Artistic Director
Coleman Umoja, Anthem for Unity
Saint-Saëns Piano Concerto No. 2
Dvořák Symphony No. 8

Program Notes

Yannick and the Orchestra open the season with Saint-Saëns's stunning Piano Concerto No. 2. And who better to join us than the incomparable Lang Lang, hailed by the New York Times as “the hottest artist on the classical music planet.” Accompanying Valerie Coleman’s stirring Umoja, Anthem for Unity, the innovative style of BalletX will be on full display as they debut new choreography from acclaimed American ballet dancer Tiler Peck for a showstopping collaboration in this special concert and gala event—an unforgettable start to our 123rd season.

Benefactor Packages Now Available!

Find complete sponsorship details and purchase a benefactor package online:

View Benefactor Packages

For more details about the Opening Night Celebration event, please contact Samantha Noll at [email protected].

Verizon Hall



The Tiler-Peck co-commission with BalletX is sponsored by Neal Krouse.

Opening Night Benefactors

Lead Benefactor 
Elaine W. Camarda and A. Morris Williams, Jr. 
The Central Volunteer Committee
Ralph and Beth Johnston Muller 
Diamond Benefactor 
Richard S. Burns and Company, Inc.
Comcast NBCUniversal
Freedom Mortgage Corporation
Patricia and John Imbesi
John H. McFadden and Lisa D. Kabnick
Leslie Miller and Richard Worley Foundation
Jeanette Lerman-Neubauer and Joseph Neubauer
Mari and Peter Shaw
The West Philadelphia Volunteer Committee

Platinum Benefactor 
Constance and Michael Cone
Sarah Miller Coulson
Tobey and Mark Dichter
Edith R. Dixon
Patsy and Ed Garno
David and Jane Kim
The Main Line Volunteer Committee
Steve and Doreen Merkt
The New Jersey Volunteer Committee
Parx Casino
Louise H. Reed
Stradley Ronon Stevens and Young, LLP
Joy Wilf and Bennett Keiser
Zisman Family Foundation

Gold Benefactor 
Tim and Pam Alles
Ballard Spahr LLP
N. Judith Broudy 
Sara A. Cerato 
John and Rosemary Diederich
Roberta and Carl Dranoff
Alexandra Edsall and Robert Victor
Nancy and John Galloway 
Carole Haas Gravagno
Julia A. Haller, M.D., and John D. Gottsch, M.D. 
Eric and Lenora Hume 
Osagie and Losenge Imasogie
Rachelle and Ronald Kaiserman
Stephen Kastenberg and Robin Ireland
Neal W. Krouse 
Lauren and Todd Lambrugo

Drs. Leon and Elsa Malmud: Malmud Kravitz Foundation 
Joseph Manko, Sr.
Tom and Linda McCarthy 
Ameline Pappas 
Joan Rechnitz 
Jon and Karen Richter
The Rittenhouse Square Volunteer Committee
Beth Rogers 
Caroline B. Rogers 
Lyn M. Ross 
Dianne and Jeffrey Rotwitt 
Mr. and Mrs. Mark E. Rubenstein
Selma Savitz, in memory of Samuel J. Savitz
Adele K. Schaeffer
Katie and Tony Schaeffer 
Tim and Ann Scheve 
Lee Shlifer
Barbara and Leonard A. Sylk 
Charles and Suzanne Valutas 
Harriet and Larry Weiss
Alison T. Young and David Maser 
Anonymous (2)

Principal Benefactor 
Dr. Susan C. Aldridge
Alene Alper
Clark Hooper Baruch
Liz Baim and Sam Bierig 
Sherrin Baky-Nessler and William Nessler III 
Chris and Wade Berrettini 
Dr. and Mrs. Kirk Brandow 
Sibby Brasler 
Laura T. Buck
Earl and Margaret Clime 
Norman and Suzanne Cohn
Mrs. Tristram C. Colket. Jr.
Peggy Cooke
Nancy and Kenneth Davis 
Rob and Patty Delany
Henry and Kathy Donner 
Stacy Dutton and Charles McMahon
Gail Ehrlich 
Drs. Bruce and Toby Eisenstein 
Anne C. Ewers 
Katharine and Bill Eyre
Vivian and Michael Francesco on behalf of the Hans Cahnmann Memorial Fund
Linda Frankel 
Lauren Gilchrist 
Dr. Janice T. Gordon
Kate Hall 
Hollie and Jamie Holt 
Melvin and Catherine Jones 
Christopher and Amanda Keith 
Marie and Jeffrey Kenkelen 
Eileen Kennedy and Robert Heim 
Sidney and Caroline Kimmel
Joseph Kluger and Susan Lewis
Richard and Diane Larzelere
Joan Lau
Drs. Gary and Deborah Ledley 
Caryl Levin
Lawrence and Nancy Ludgus
Karyl Charna Lynn
Sally MacKenzie
Elizabeth and Edwin Mahoney
Sandy and David Marshall

Daniel J.S. McArdle
Ned Montgomery 
Dr. Jasmine Moore 
Cathy Moss 
Karen and Asuka Nakahara
Offit Kurman, Attorneys at Law
     Matthew D’Annunzio, Esq.
     C. Lawrence Holmes, Esq.
Elias Packman 
John Pcsolar and Alan Sandman
Prof. Ilan Peleg and Dr. Marta Rozans 
Dr. Joel and Mrs. Bobbie Porter 
Kate Brady Rauscher
David Richman and Janet Perry
Rinaldi Family, Jacobs Music
Charles and Linda Schelke 
Anne Faulkner Schoemaker 
Carole and Jack Schultz 
Jason Schupbach
Dianne L. Semingson
Faye Senneca and Ricard Weisenberg 
Lorraine Stanhope and Eric Hirschberg
Ken Stewart 
Stacy Stone and Stephen McMillan 
Judith Sills Swartz and Randy Swartz 
Brian Tierney 
William Untereker
Thomas and Patricia Vernon 
Maria Parisi Vickers 
Jack and Ramona Vosbikian 
Dr. R.J. Wallner
Dr. Bettyruth Walter
Deborah Weise
James A. and Nancy Bendiner Weiss
Dr. Sankey V. Williams and the Hon. Constance H. Williams 
Richard and Diane Woosnam

Volunteer Benefactor
Sandra Blumberg Beatty and George Beatty
Lois Boyce
Carol Melman Brown
Mr. and Mrs. Donald F. Cafiero
Kristine Christensen
Sheila Cox
Colleen DeMorat
Fred and Michelle Harde
Marybeth Henry
Dr. Adrienne Jacoby
Kimberly Jaffe
Wilma Katz
Marlena Robinson Kleit
Bernice J. Koplin and Guy A. Veroli
Kelsey Larzelere
Richard Margolin
Barbara G. Miller
Karen R. Nagel and Stephen Kamp
Mrs. Eleanor Oxman
Jean and Steven Park
Jerome and Elizabeth Pontillo
Richelle and Kameron Rabenou
Kate, Bob, and Emily Rauscher
Josephine and Thomas Rees
Mrs. Fran Schwartz
William and Kathleen Stone
Alan and Leni Windle

Charlotte H. Biddle
Ms. Mun Chan
Yingfang Liu
Ms. Arlene M. Morgan 
Kunakorn Puntawong
Frank and Roslyn Roth
Lynn and Anthony C. Salvo
Kathleen Squires, M.D. and Matthew Carabasi, M.D.

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website and personalized content.
Learn more.